Student Jazz Competition Winners

The 11th Annual Student Jazz Competition was held Monday, March 15, at Phineas Phogg’s in Seville Quarter, downtown Pensacola.

Jazz Pensacola’s mission is to promote all forms of Jazz — America’s music — in the Central Gulf Coast region. We endeavor to provide a social forum for jazz performance, education, and enjoyment for musicians and listeners alike. As part of our mission, Jazz Pensacola seeks to encourage emerging jazz musicians (vocalists and instrumentalists) during their student years. The larger jazz community, including musicians and educators, feel that by welcoming students and giving them an opportunity to showcase and develop their talents, we are helping create the jazz musicians of the future, and thereby fostering the future of jazz.

Here’s a look at the winners, as presented by master of ceremonies Roger Villines:

Host Roger Villines, students Jensen Cadenhead, Max Levesque, Brianna Marler, Katarina Marshall, Joshua Mullikin.

College Instrumental, First Place

Jensen Cadenhead, drums, UWF. Prize: $500.

Jensen Cadenhead

College Instrumental, Second Place

Max Levesque, bass, UWF. Prize: $300.

Max Levesque

College Instrumental, Third Place

Tie: Brianna Marler, trombone, Northwest Florida State College. Prize: $150.

Brianna Marler

Tie: Katarina Marshall, tenor sax, Northwest Florida State College. Prize: $150.

Katarina Marshall

High School Instrumental, First Place

Joshua Mullikin, tenor sax, Booker T. Washington High School. Prize: $400.

Joshua Mullikin

Finalists were chosen from the submitted applications, each including recorded performances of two tunes demonstrating their jazz skills. Judges for the event were Rebecca Barry, Allen Beeson, and Steve Gilmore.

Thanks to our distinguished sponsors:

  • Arts, Culture, & Entertainment Inc.
  • Florida Department of State Division of Cultural Affairs
  • The Great Gulfcoast Arts Festival
  • Studer Foundation
  • Schmidt’s Music
  • Adriane “Cookie” Kichler

Thanks also to our JETS members:

Laura Arguea
Robert & Margaret Byrnes
Steve Douglas
John & Myrl Eisinger
Paul & Marliese Herrick
Dr. Rovena Hillsman
Patricia Knowles
Marty Libowsky
Kathy Lyon
Knox & Holly Parker
Joe Spaniola
Tom & Karen Stanmore
Carolyn Tokson & Jeff Elliot
Dr. Norman & Betty Vickers
Roger & Kat Villines
Justine Ward